IHOSE header

"Your merits should be publicly recognized" [STUD]

The Mystery Writers of America have announced the 2007 Edgar Award Nominees. You can see a full listing of nominees by clicking on the link.

Past winners of this prestigious award have included Leslie Klinger, for The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Short Stories and Daniel Stashower for Teller of Tales: The Life of Arthur Conan Doyle.

For 2007, we've highlighted the nominees that might be of particular interest to fans of Sherlock Holmes:

Best First Novel by an American Author
Holmes on the Range by Steve Hockensmith

Best Critical / Biographical
The Science of Sherlock Holmes: From Baskerville Hall to the Valley of Fear, The Real Forensics Behind the Great Detective's Greatest Cases by E.J. Wagner

Best Fact Crime
The Beautiful Cigar Girl: Mary Rogers, Edgar Allan Poe, and the Invention of Murder by Daniel Stashower (Go, Dan - another nomination!)

Best Juvenile
The Case of the Missing Marquess: An Enola Holmes Mystery: An Enola Holmes Mystery by Nancy Springer

Best Play
"Sherlock Holmes: The Final Adventure" by Steven Dietz

Best Television Episode Teleplay
House, M.D. - Season Two - "Clueless", Teleplay by Thomas L. Moran
Monk - "Mr. Monk Gets a New Shrink", Teleplay by Hy Conrad

More information about the Edgars from the Mystery Writers of America Web site:
Mystery Writers of America is proud to announce on the 198th anniversary of the birth of Edgar Allan Poe, its Nominees for the 2007 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television and film published or produced in 2006. The Edgar Awards will be presented to the winners at our 61st Gala Banquet, April 26, 2007 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, New York City.